From: Kathy Dunn [kathy.dunn_at_btopenworld_dot_com]

Sent: 05 February 2012 18:06





It's less than two weeks to our next gig on Friday 17th February when we are hosts to the delightful Johnny Coppin.

Johnny has had fingers in many pies since the demise of Decameron, compiling poetry anthologies, writing songs, singing and performing solo, as well as with other artists like Mike Silver. He has also been radio broadcasting, so we are lucky such a busy man has managed to fit in a concert at Wessex Acoustic.

Johnny is well known for his beautifully clear singing and wide range of self penned songs.

Supporting Johnny we have the talented singer songwriter Nigel Waite, from Bournemouth.

Tickets for this great night out are only 10, unless you book ahead, in which case it is the bargain price of 8!

Book your tickets NOW by replying to this email or calling Kathy on 01202 732239.


The following month we are pleased to present that amazing Scottish singer-songwriter Wendy Arrowsmith. Wendy has appeared at Swanage Folk Festival for 2 years and is coming back again. She has proved a firm favourite with the festival crowds and we are delighted to have her back at the club on March 9th. Why not book for both concerts in one go?


Remember opening time for the Legion is 7pm. Our doors open at 8pm or earlier if sound checks permit.


Tickets are now on sale for FAIRPORT Acoustic CONVENTION on Friday 25th May at 8pm at Upton Community Centre, Upton, Poole. 20 a ticket, children half price. We are laying on a licenced bar with Sixpenny Handley Ale and other drinks available, but no food. See the website for details of how to get your tickets.


Hope to see you at the club soon.


Kathy & John


at The Royal British Legion, Church Lane, Blandford, DT117AD


2012 bookings

17th February - Johnny Coppin

9th March - Wendy Arrowsmith

13th April - Katriona Gilmore & Jamie Roberts

27th April - Stan Graham - Nigel Waite

25th May - FAIRPORT CONVENTION (at a separate venue)

22nd June - Corncrow

28th September - Vicki Swan & Jonny Dyer

19th October - Vin Garbutt

9th November - Lucy Ward

23rd November - Mike Silver